Christine Spagnoli for AAJ Parliamentarian 2019

SPECIAL ANNOUNCMENT: Click here to RSVP to our Campaign Party Now!

Why I'm Running

Over the past few months since announcing my candidacy for AAJ Parliamentarian I have traveled across the country meeting and talking with AAJ members.

I am running for AAJ Parliamentarian because I am the right person for the job, right now. This confidence stems from my experience leading other organizations, and from being called upon time and again to lend a hand, take on a task, or lead the way as trial lawyers confront the daily legal and political challenges faced by our clients and our profession.

When other leaders ask for my help it’s because they know I will get the job done. It’s because we have been in the trenches together, we have created great results together, and we have solved problems together. It’s because they trust my instincts and my dedication to the cause. Watch this video to learn first-hand from a few great AAJ leaders why they support me in this effort.

A Message From Past Presidents
New Message

Why We are Endorsing Chris Spagnoli for Parliamentarian

We have known and worked with Chris Spagnoli for decades. Over the past 25 years she has proven to be one of the best trial lawyers in the United States, with major courtroom experience and success. She has a history of successful leadership of three large trial lawyer associations, having served as President of CAALA (Consumer Attorneys Association of Los Angeles), CAOC (Consumer Attorneys of California), and AIEG (Attorneys Information Exchange Group).
She has also been an AAJ activist for many years, having served on our board and many committees.

Most importantly, we have seen Chris in action as a thoughtful and astute advocate in the political and lobbying arena. When the General Motors/Chrysler bailout was working its way through Congress with overwhelming Democratic support, Chris provided extraordinary leadership in the campaign to retain compensation rights for injured victims and consumers – an effort that required raising over $1M and encouraging key members of congress to hold hearings that influenced the successful outcome.

Chris has proven record of accomplishment and leadership we can count on. Chris is also a modest person who is not one to boast about her many accomplishments and leadership skills – which is all the more reason we felt compelled to send this letter. Please join us in voting for Chris for AAJ Parliamentarian at the Annual Meeting this summer in San Diego.


Mark Mandell, AAJ President 1999-2000
Leo Boyle, AAJ President 2001-02
Mary Alexander, AAJ President 2002-03
Dave Casey, Jr., AAJ President 2003-04
Todd Smith, AAJ President 2004-05
Ken Suggs, AAJ President 2005-06
Mike Eidson, AAJ President 2006-07
Kathleen Flynn Petersen, 2007-08
Les Weisbrod, AAJ President 2008-09
Anthony Tarricone, AAJ President 2009-10
Gary Paul, AAJ President, 2011-12
Mary Alice McLarty, AAJ President 2012-13
Larry Tawwater, AAJ President, 2015-16
Julie Braman Kane, AAJ President, 2016-17
(partial list of supporters)

Any endorsement contained in this email is being made on behalf of the individual acting in his or her own capacity.

Christines Endorsements Christine’s Acceptance of Harry J. Philo Award, July 2017 Christine's Endorsements
Julie Braman Kane Coral Gables, FL AAJ Past President
Larry A. Tawwater Oklahoma City, OK AAJ Past President
Mary Alice McLarty Dallas, TX AAJ Past President
Gary Paul Los Angeles, CA AAJ Past President
Anthony Tarricone Boston, MA AAJ Past President
Les Weisbrod Dallas, TX AAJ Past President
Kathleen Flynn Peterson Minneapolis, MN AAJ Past President
Mike Eidson Coral Gables, FL AAJ Past President
Kenneth Suggs Columbia, S.C AAJ Past President
Todd Smith Chicago, IL AAJ Past President
David S. Casey, Jr. San Diego, CA AAJ Past President
Mary Alexander San Francisco, CA AAJ Past President
Leo Boyle Boston, MA AAJ Past President
Mark S. Mandell Providence, RI AAJ Past President
Micael C. Maher Winter Park, FL AAJ Past President
Robert L Habush Milwaukee, WI AAJ Past President
Peter Perlman Lexington, KY AAJ Past President
See all Endorsements
"I am at a point in my life and career where I have the time and resources to commit to the leadership ladder of AAJ. I believe I have the track record and leadership skills that will make me a valuable member of that team."
- Christine D. Spagnoli
Acceptance of Lifetime Legal Achievement Award Winner - 2017 Click to Watch Video
Rage For Justice – Tribute to Christine D. Spagnoli Click to Watch Video
Julie Braman Kane - Past AAJ President presenting Chris with Lifetime Legal Achievement Award Click to Watch Video
CAALA Hall of Fame 2018 Click to Watch Video
Sign an Endorsement

Simply complete the form to endorse Chris and Join Our Team! Please note in the “comments” section if you previously or currently hold a leadership position with AAJ, or another lawyer organization. Also feel free to send Chris a note of encouragement which may be added to a comments section later. Thank you.

Read comments others have written here

Follow Chris’s Parliamentarian Candidacy on Facebook:

Election Information for AAJ Parliamentarian

Monday, July 29, 5:15p.m. PT, Membership Business and Elections Meeting.

When Can I Vote for the Contested Office of AAJ Parliamentarian?

Voting will be conducted by electronic ballot, which will open Monday, July 29, at approximately 6 p.m. PT (following the candidate speeches) and continue until 12 p.m. PT, Tuesday, July 30. We encourage everyone to attend the Membership Business and Elections Meeting, but it is not required to vote.

Where Do I Vote?

You will be able to vote from any internet connected device including smartphones and iPads. There will be a voting station with iPads and assistance on-site Monday, July 29, 6-7:30 p.m. PT and on Tuesday, July 30, 8 a.m. – 12 p.m. PT

How Do I Vote?

Eligible voters who have checked in at convention before 2 p.m. PT on Monday, July 29, will receive a personal election code and pin on Monday, July 29, starting at approximately 4 p.m. PT. These codes will be sent to the email address provided when registering for the convention. To help ensure you receive your election code and pin, please add to your safe senders list.

  • For members who check in between 2 p.m. PT on Monday, July 29, and 9 a.m. PT on Tuesday, July 30, AAJ will send out personal election code and pin to the email address you provided on a rolling basis.
  • Provisional ballots will be provided to those who check in after 9 a.m. PT on Tuesday, July 30.

Who is Eligible to Vote?

  • You must be a voting member of AAJ, which is limited to these member categories: Regular, Life, Sustaining, President’s Club, Honorary Life; or retired members who were formerly Regular, Life, Sustaining, or President’s Club members.
  • You must be a voting member of AAJ in good standing for at least 30 days prior to the start of the Annual Convention (June 27, 2019).
  • You must be paid registrant for the full convention ( “total package” or “education programs only”).
  • You must personally check in at the Annual Convention, receive an AAJ convention badge onsite, and agree that no other person will be allowed to cast your vote.

When Are the Results Announced?

The results of the election will be announced during the Membership and Awards Luncheon on Tuesday, July 30, 12-2 p.m. PT.